Ideas for future MUD/whatever development
Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
GrooveTiger

PostPosted: Tue Oct 09, 2007 8:47 am    Post subject: Ideas for future MUD/whatever development Reply with quote

First of all, I want to apologize in advance. I was going to post this hours ago, before I got abducted by the beer monkeys, and now I just have to post it anyway or I'll just forget all about it in my semi-drunken stupor. I suppose the original version was going to be less "ranty".

I'm fairly new at this MUD business, but I've been toying with lots of ideas for RPG game designs for years, and I want to share these ideas to get some feedback. I know I'm probably trying to invent the wheel again, and that some of these ideas have been proposed dozens of times, and I'm under the delusion that I'm somehow doing something original here. The point being, I just want to know if this is something anyone would be interested in playing, and why not. (translation: just try your best in criticism about the game "system" I've devised, before I even go thru the effort of actually making a game out of it)

*rubs eyes*

Anyway, I've been toying with a few ideas. The latest incarnation of this game is a MUD, not because I think it's the best medium (I've thought about making a MMORPG, a single player super-duper 3D adventure game, a computer simulation, a matrix-like alternate reality, probably even lucid-dreaming drug-induced hallucination... you get the drift) but I digress... a lot. The point is, with a MUD, I can just go and make it happen, instead of sulking uselessly at why doesn't EA or Sony or Sunsoft pick my idea and make me a multi-billionaire.

These are some elements I've thought would make an interesting MUD. The setting I have in consideration is a steampunk "Wild West" one (with some weird dimension-traveling aspects) but I think it could just as easily apply to other modern settings between 1860-ish to 1950-ish.