DG_scripts, mob_progs and other scripting languages

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Molly O'Hara

PostPosted: Sun May 29, 2005 8:19 am    Post subject: DG_scripts, mob_progs and other scripting languages Reply with quote

I thought it might be helpful to compare some of the advantages and disadvantages of different scripting languages, like we did with the codebases. I have some first hand experience of both Mob_progs and DG_scripts myself, so I will start out with a very basic comparison between those.

It has however been almost 6 years since I last worked with Mob_progs, so hopefully someone else will take over the task of describing more in detail what you can achieve with the latest generation of those. I remember them as rather limited in what they could do, and buggy in the sense that they often crashed the mud. But that could of course have been due to my own inexperience at the time. Also they have probably developed and improved over the years, like the DG_scripts have. But based on what I know then and what I know now, I’d take the DG_scripts over the mob_progs any time.

There are many similarities between DG_scripts and mob_progs. For instance they share many of the script types (like speech, command, greet etc.). The main set-up of the script is also similar; both systems use a number of if_checks to determine if and why an action in the script will be performed or not.

The basic difference lies in the syntax. The variables in mob_progs resemble the ones used for socials in the code, and look a bit cryptic at first glance. The variables in DG_scripts are usually a bit easier to grasp at first look. Below are some examples to illustrate this.

In Mob_progs some of the variables for different actors in a script are:
$i the name of the scripted mobile itself.
$n the name of whomever caused the trigger to happen.

In DG_scripts the same variables would be:
%self.name% the name of the scripted mobile itself.